World Time Starts Here

Military & Civilian Time Designations

There are 25 integer World Time Zones from -12 through 0 (GMT) to +12. Each one is 15° of Longitude as measured East and West from the Prime Meridian of the World at Greenwich, England. Some countries have adopted non-standard time zones, usually 30 minutes offset which have a * designation.

Each Time Zone is measured relative to Greenwich, England. There are both civilian designations which are typically three letter abbreviations (e.g. EST) for most time zones. In addition there are military designations. These use each letter of the alphabet (except 'J') and are known by their phonetic equivalent. E.G. Greenwich Mean Time (civilian) or Z = Zulu (military and aviation).

Standard Time Zones

Note: cities in italics operate Daylight Saving Time during Summer months

GMT Zone Military Civilian Time Zones Cities
Standard Time Zone
GMT Z Zulu GMT: Greenwich Mean
UT: Universal
UTC: Universal Co-ordinated
WET: Western European

East of Greenwich

GMT Zone Military Civilian Time Zones Cities
Standard Time Zone
GMT+1 A Alpha
GMT+2 B Bravo
GMT+3 C Charlie BT: Baghdad
GMT+3:30 C*
GMT+4 D Delta
GMT+4:30 D*
GMT+5 E Echo
GMT+5:30 E* India
GMT+6 F Foxtrot
GMT+6:30 F* Cocos Islands
GMT+7 G Golf
GMT+8 H Hotel CCT: China Coast
GMT+9 I India JST: Japan Standard,
GMT+9:30 I* Australia Central Standard Darwin, Australia
Adelaide, Australia
GMT+10 K Kilo GST: Guam Standard
GMT+10:30 K* Lord Howe Island
GMT+11 L Lima
GMT+11:30 L* Norfolk Island
GMT+12 M Mike IDLE: International Date Line East
NZST: New Zealand Standard
Wellington, New Zealand
Marshall Islands
M* Rawaki Islands: Enderbury Kiribati
Line Islands: Kiritibati

West of Greenwich

GMT Zone Military Civilian Time Zones Cities
Standard Time Zone
GMT-1 N November WAT: West Africa Azores, Cape Verde Islands
GMT-2 O Oscar AT: Azores
GMT-3 P Papa Brasilia, Brazil
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Georgetown, Guyana
GMT-3:30 P* Newfoundland
GMT-4 Q Quebec AST: Atlantic Standard Caracas
La Paz
GMT-5 R Romeo
GMT-6 S Sierra Mexico City, Mexico
Saskatchewan, Canada
GMT-7 T Tango
GMT-8 U Uniform
GMT-8:30 U*
GMT-9 V Victor YST: Yukon Standard.
GMT-9:30 V*
GMT-10 W Whiskey AHST: Alaska-Hawaii Standard
CAT: Central Alaska
HST: Hawaii Standard
GMT-11 X X-ray NT: Nome.
GMT-12 Y Yankee IDLW: International Date Line West

See Summer Time (or Daylight saving) Time Zones

Related timepiece apps

Please advise of any local changes using our feedback form .

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):