World Time Starts Here

Indian Time Meridian (IST)

The longitude against which Indian Standard time is set passes through Allahabad, India.

British India did not adopt the international standard time zones until 1905 when the meridian passing through Allahabad at 82.5º east (of Greenwich Meridian ) longitude was picked as the central meridian for India, corresponding to a single time zone for the country at 5 hours and 30 minutes in advance of GMT.

This went into force on January 1, 1906. However, Calcutta time was officially maintained as a separate time zone until 1948. Bombay time was maintained but only informally until about 1955.

After independence and the partition of British India, Pakistan stayed on Indian Standard Time for three years and adopted Pakistan Standard Time at 5 hours in advance of GMT in 1951.

Map of Allahabad, India

Indian Astronomy Institutions

Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
Observing Facilities, Research Briefs, Publications, ....

Inter University Centre for Astronomy & Astrophysics, Pune
About IUCAA, Research & Publications....

National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Pune
Research Opportunities, Calendar, Library, Observing with GMRT....

Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmadabad
About PRL, Album, Research Divisions....

Physics Department, Bangalore University, Bangalore
General Information, Research Projects....

Physics Department, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
History, Research, Programmes, Joint Astronomy Programme....

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
About TIFR, Colloquiua & Seminars....

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):