Time Zone ConverterSunrise and SunsetMoonrise and MoonsetGMT Event TimeGMT Meeting PlannerGMT Currency ConverterGMT CalendarDate CalculatorTimerGMT Time Zone ExplorerGMT World ClockGlobe TimeSun TimeMoon TimeCity TimeCricket TimeUS Eastern Time - ESTUS Pacific Time - PSTUS Central Time - CSTEU Central Time - CETUS Central Time - CSTIndia Time - ISTBristol TimeDid Columbus find longitude?The International Meridian Conference, Washington, 1884 GMT Timestamp In tune, on time and in timeAstrology: Natal ChartWhy is the Navy so involved in time-keeping?NTPPanchang - Indian Astrology
{{ cseIcon[cseOpen] }}

Indian Time Meridian (IST)

Allahabad, India

The longitude against which Indian Standard time is set passes through Allahabad, India.

British India did not adopt the international standard time zones until 1905 when the meridian passing through Allahabad at 82.5º east (of Greenwich Meridian ) longitude was picked as the central meridian for India, corresponding to a single time zone for the country at 5 hours and 30 minutes in advance of GMT.

This went into force on January 1, 1906. However, Calcutta time was officially maintained as a separate time zone until 1948. Bombay time was maintained but only informally until about 1955.

After independence and the partition of British India, Pakistan stayed on Indian Standard Time for three years and adopted Pakistan Standard Time at 5 hours in advance of GMT in 1951.

Map of Allahabad, India

A map of Allahābād, Uttar Pradesh, India. Click to see the map on MSN Maps & Directions

Indian Astronomy Institutions

Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
Observing Facilities, Research Briefs, Publications, ....

Inter University Centre for Astronomy & Astrophysics, Pune
About IUCAA, Research & Publications....

National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Pune
Research Opportunities, Calendar, Library, Observing with GMRT....

Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmadabad
About PRL, Album, Research Divisions....

Physics Department, Bangalore University, Bangalore
General Information, Research Projects....

Physics Department, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
History, Research, Programmes, Joint Astronomy Programme....

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai
About TIFR, Colloquiua & Seminars....

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):

Useful linksGMT Time ConverterGMT World ClockWhat is GMT?Currency converterAsia Clock