NSW Time

Current time now in New South Wales

Daylight Saving Time (DST) rules

What is the current local time now in NSW, Australia?

Standard Time offset = GMT+10

New South Wales DST = GMT+11

NB YancOwinna (also known as Broken Hill ) is in NSW, but adheres to South Australian time includingdaylight saving time.

What time zone is New SouthWales in?

Standard Time is 10 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time(GMT+10).

Daylight Saving Time isobserved in New South Wales, where the time is shifted forward by 1 hour,resulting in a 11 hour difference ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+11).

After the Summer months the time is shifted back by 1 hourresulting in the normal Standard Time.

On 27 June 2007 the Premier of New South Wales announced that legislation would be introduced to provide New South Wales residents with extra daylight saving.

The legislation was passed by Parliament on 23 October 2007.

Daylight saving for future summers begins at 2 am, Eastern Standard Time, on the first Sunday in October and ends at 3 am summer time on the first Sunday in April . This means that residents in New South Wales have an additional three weeks of daylight saving at the beginning and one week at the end.

The decision to harmonise daylight saving across the south-eastern states and the ACT was made after careful consideration of the impact on both rural and urban communities.

The extended period will provide uniformity for business activities conducted across state lines and is consistent with the Council of Australian Governments' focus on reducing regulatory burdens on business.

Standard Time

Standard time in New South Wales (known as Eastern StandardTime) is the mean time of the meridian of longitude 150 degrees east ofGreenwich, England. In other words, New South Wales (except for Broken Hill andLord Howe Island) is 10 hours ahead of Greenwich.

Standard time in Broken Hill (i.e. the County of Yancowinna) is the mean time ofthe meridian of longitude 142 degrees 30 minutes east of Greenwich and standardtime in Lord Howe Island is the mean time of the meridian of longitude 157degrees 30 minutes east of Greenwich (9.5 hours and 10.5 hours ahead ofGreenwich respectively)."/assets/static/

Start and Finish of Daylight Saving inNSW

Daylight saving begins at 2 a.m. Eastern Standard Time on thelast Sunday in October and ends at 3 a.m. summer time on the last Sunday inMarch. During daylight saving, summer time in New South Wales is one hour inadvance of New South Wales standard time.

Therefore, at 2 a.m. standard time on the last Sunday in October clocks are putforward one hour- the time then becomes 3 a.m. summer time. At 3 a.m. summertime on the last Sunday in March clocks are put back one hour- the time thenbecomes 2 a.m. standard time.

Governmentof New South Wales website : www.nsw.gov.au

Our creative collection

Related Pages
New South Wales
New South Wales Cities
New South Wales Map
Sydney, Australia
Albury-Wodonga, Australia
Armidale, Australia
Bathurst, Australia
Broken Hill Time
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Dubbo, Australia
Goulburn, Australia
Lismore, Australia
Newcastle, Australia
Port Macquarie, Australia
Queanbeyan, Australia
Richmond-Windsor, Australia
Shoalhaven, Australia
Tamworth, Australia
Taree, Australia
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Wollongong, Australia