Greenwich Means Time to the World

Australia Time

Australian Time Zones

Australia is divided into 6 states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania and 2 territories; the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

There are three time zones in Australia:

Does Australia operate Daylight Saving Time?

Australian states except Northern Territory and Western Australia and Queensland have daylight saving time during the summer months.

The (Australian) National Standards Commission (Commonwealth statutory authority established in 1950 and operating under the National Measurement Act 1960) website:

The Commission is responsible for advising the Government on the scientific, technical and legislative requirements of Australia's national measurement system, and has specific responsibilities for coordinating the national measurement system, ensuring that trade measurement instruments comply with international and national legal metrology standards, and for the completion of metrication.

Australia Daylight Saving Time

Changed from 2007-2008.  Summer Time (Daylight Saving Time) runs in New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria. South Australia and Tasmania from the first Sunday in October through to the first Sunday in April.

  State Standard Time
ACT Australian Capital Territory +10 +11 Yes
NSW New South Wales +10 +11 Yes
NT Northern Territory +9:30 NA NA
QLD Queensland +10 NA NA
SA South Australia +9:30 +10:30 Yes
TAS Tasmania +10 +11 Yes
VIC Victoria +10 +11 Yes
WA Western Australia +8   No

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):