World Time Starts Here

Belgium Facts

What is the Capital of Belgium?

Brussels (French: Bruxelles ); Dutch: Brussel ).

Brussels is the capital of Belgium and the administrative centre of the European Union. This has earned the city the title of the Capital of Europe.

Officially the Brussels Capital-Region , is the de facto capital city of the European Union (EU) and the largest urban area in Belgium.  Brussels includes the City of Brussels municipality which is the capital of Belgium, of Flanders and of the French Community of Belgium.

Official website of the City of Brussels:

Total Area of Belgium

total: 30,528 sq km
land: 30,278 sq km
water: 250 sq km

Population of Belgium

11,035,948 (2012 census)

Languages of Belgium

Dutch (official) 60%, French (official) 40%, German (official) less than 1%, legally bilingual (Dutch and French)

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):