Greenwich Means Time to the World

Latvia Flag

Flag of Latvia

Flag Description: three horizontal bands of maroon (top), white (half-width), and maroon

Coat of Arms of Latvia

The proper use of the Latvian coat of arms is firmly regulated. Three types of symbol are used - the large coat of arms, the small enhanced coat of arms and the small coat of arms.

  • The Large Coat of Arms is used by the President of Latvia, the Parliament, the Prime Minister, the Cabinet of Ministers, government ministries, the Supreme Court and Prosecutor General, as well as Latvian diplomatic and consular missions.

  • The Small Enhanced Coat of Arms is used by the Parliament agencies, the Cabinet of Ministers and other institutions under direct or indirect supervision of the government ministries.

  • The Small Coat of Arms is used by other government institutions, municipal authorities and educational institutions on official documents.

The Latvian National Coat of Arms was formed after the proclamation of an independent Republic of Latvia on November 18, 1918, and was specially created for its independent statehood. The national coat of arms combines symbols of Latvian national statehood as well as symbols of ancient historical districts. The sun in the upper part of the coat of arms symbolises Latvian national statehood. A stylised depiction of the sun was used as a symbol of distinction and national identity by Latvian riflemen - latviešu strēlnieki - recruited into the Russian imperial army during World War I. During World War I the sun figure was fashioned with 17 rays that symbolised the 17 Latvian-inhabited districts. The three stars above the coat of arms embody the idea of the inclusion of historical districts (Vidzeme, Latgale and combined Kurzeme-Zemgale) into the united Latvia.

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):