Serbia Travel

Where is Serbia?

Serbia is in South-eastern Europe, bordering the Adriatic Sea, between Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina .

What is the Capital of Serbia?

Belgrade , Serbia.

What is the official language of Serbia

The official languages of Serbia are:

Serbian (official nationwide); Romanian, Hungarian, Slovak, Ukrainian, and Croatian (all official in Vojvodina); Albanian (official in Kosovo).

When are the Public Holidays in Serbia?

Republic Day, 29 November

Brief History of Serbia

The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes was formed in 1918; its name waschanged to Yugoslavia in 1929.

In 1989, Slobodan MILOSEVIC became president of the Serbian Republic and his calls for Serbian domination led to the violent breakup of Yugoslavia along ethnic lines.

In 1991, Croatia, Slovenia, and Macedonia declared independence, followed by Bosnia in 1992. The remaining republics of Serbia and Montenegro declared a new Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) in April 1992 .

In 1998, an ethnic Albanian insurgency in the formerly autonomous Serbian province of Kosovo provoked a Serbian counterinsurgency campaign that resulted in massacres and massive expulsions of ethnic Albanians living in Kosovo.

UNSC Resolution 1244 in June 1999 authorized the stationing of a NATO-led force (KFOR) in Kosovo to provide a safe and secure environment for the region's ethnic communities, created a UN interim Administration Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK) to foster self-governing institutions, and reserved the issue of Kosovo's final status for an unspecified date in the future.

In 2003, the FRY became Serbia and Montenegro, a loose federation of the two republics with a federal level parliament.

In May 2006, Montenegro invoked its right to secede from the federation and - following a successful referendum - it declared itself an independent nation on 3 June 2006. Two days later, Serbia declared that it was the successor state to the union of Serbia and Montenegro. A new Serbian constitution was approved in October 2006 and adopted the following month.

After 15 months of inconclusive negotiations mediated by the UN and four months of further inconclusive negotiations mediated by the US, EU, and Russia, on 17 February 2008, the UNMIK-administered province of Kosovo declared itself independent of Serbia.

Our creative collection

Related Pages
European Union
Central European Time
Eastern European Time
Western European Time
Bosnia Herzegovina
Faeroe Islands
North Macedonia
Republic of Moldova
San Marino
Svalbard & Jan Mayen
Vatican City
Serbia Cities
Serbia Currency
Map of Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
Serbia Time
Tell us if you found a problem