Turkey, Europe

Republic of Turkey / Türkiye / Turkiye Cumhuriyeti

Current time and facts

Since 2016, Turkey has been on GMT+3 all year round.

The Republic of Turkey or Turkey (Turkish: Türkiye), is a bi-continental country that is located mainly in the Middle East (Southwest Asia) and partly in Southeast Europe; The Anatolian peninsula comprises most (97%) of its territory, and is situated between the Black Sea on the north and the Mediterranean Sea to south and west, with the Aegean Sea (and Marmara Sea) in between. A small portion of Turkey's territory (3%) is situated in south-eastern Europe, west of the Bosphorus straits.

Turkey has two European and six Asian countries as neighbours: Bulgaria and Greece on the west; Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan on the northeast; Iran (Persia) on the east; and Iraq and Syria on the south.

Turkey started accession negotiations with the European Union (EU) in 2005

Our creative collection

Related Pages
Turkey Cities
Turkey Currency Converter
Map of Turkey
Turkey Time
Turkey Travel
Turkey Facts
Adana Turkey
Adapazari Turkey
Ankara Turkey
Antalya Turkey
Bursa Turkey
Denizli Turkey
Diyarbakir Turkey
Erzurum Turkey
Eskisehir Turkey
Gaziantep Turkey
Istanbul Turkey
Izmir Turkey
Kahramanmaras Turkey
Kayseri Turkey
Konya Turkey
Malatya Turkey
Mersin Turkey
Samsun Turkey
Urfa Turkey
Van Turkey