Mexico, North America

Time zones in Mexico and Daylight Saving Time (DST) rules

Current time in all time zones and GMT offsets

Mexico is divided into five time zones, four standard ones and a fifth that was created in 2015. Three of these time zones observe DST. They are:

1. General

2. Baja California

3. Baja California Sur, Chihuahua, Nayarit & Sinaloa

4. Sonora: no DST

5. Quintana Roo (since 2015): no DST

Current time in every Mexico Time Zone

Time Zone I - General - Mexico Central Time

Standard Time: GMT-6 until 1st Sunday in April 02:00 Local
Daylight Saving Time: GMT-5 until last Sunday in October 02:00 Local

Time Zone II - States of Baja California Sur (South), Chihuahua, Nayarit, Sinaloa - Mexico Mountain Time

Standard Time: GMT-7 until 1st Sunday in April 02:00 Local
Daylight Savings Time: GMT-6 until last Sunday in October 02:00 Local

Time Zone III - State of Baja California (Close to USA Border) - Mexico Pacific Time

Follows same pattern as USA Daylight Savings Time

Standard Time: GMT-8 until 2nd Sunday in March 02:00 Local
Daylight Saving Time: GMT-7 until first Sunday in November 02:00 Local

Time Zone IV - State of Sonora - Mexico Mountain Standard Time

Standard Time: GMT-7 all year around

Time Zone V - State of Quintana Roo - Mexico Cancun Time (created in 2015)

Cancun Time: GMT-5 all year round

Our creative collection

City Time
World Cities Time
Sun Time
Season progress
Liquid Time
Digital Hourglass
Related Pages
North America
Central America
Mexico City
Acapulco, Mexico
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Chihuahua, Mexico
Ecatepec, Mexico
Guadalajara, Mexico
Juárez, Mexico
León, Mexico
Mérida, Mexico
Monterrey, Mexico
Nezahualcóyotl, Mexico
Puebla, Mexico
San Luis Potosí, Mexico
Tijuana, Mexico
Tlalnepantla, Mexico
Mexico Cities
Mexico Currency Converter
Map of Mexico
Mexico Travel
Tell us if you found a problem