Time Zones - Russia

Standard Time Zones of the Russian Federation

Zone names, abbreviations and GMT offsets

All Russian cities' time zones are specified relative to Moscow Time.

Current time in Moscow Time Zone (Russia)

Moscow Standard Time Zone is 3 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time(GMT) . The offset is therefore GMT+3 .

Kaliningrad TimeSamara TimeYekaterinburg TimeOmsk TimeKrasnoyarsk TimeIrkutsk TimeYakutsk TimeVladivostok TimeMagadan TimeKamchatka Time

Russia Standard Time Zones

There are 11 time zones in Russia, as follows:

TZ abbrRussian citiesStandardArea
USZ1Kaliningrad TimeGMT+2Kaliningrad Oblast
MSKMoscow TimeGMT+3Most of European Russia
SAMTSamara TimeGMT+4Samara Oblast and Udmurtia
YEKTYekaterinburg TimeGMT+5Bashkortostan, Chelyabinsk Oblast, Khantia-Mansia, Kurgan Oblast, Orenburg Oblast, Perm Krai, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Tyumen Oblast, and Yamalia
OMSTOmsk TimeGMT+6Altai Krai, Altai Republic, Novosibirsk Oblast, Omsk Oblast and Tomsk Oblast
KRATKrasnoyarsk TimeGMT+7Kemerovo Oblast, Khakassia, Krasnoyarsk Krai and Tuva
IRKTIrkutsk TimeGMT+8Buryatia and Irkutsk Oblast
YAKTYakutsk TimeGMT+9Amur Oblast, western Sakha Republic and Zabaykalsky Krai
VLATVladivostok TimeGMT+10The Jewish Autonomous Oblast, Khabarovsk Krai, Primorsky Krai, central Sakha Republic and Sakhalin Island
MAGTMagadan TimeGMT+11Abyysky, Allaikhovsky, Momsky, Nizhnekolymsky, Severo-Kurilsky, Srednekolymsky and Verkhnekolymsky Districts
PETTKamchatka TimeGMT+12Kamchatka Krai

The only federal subjects to be in more than one time zone are the Sakha Republic, which is separated into areas which observe the Yakutsk, Vladivostok and Magadan time zones, and Sakhalin Oblast, which is in the Vladivostok (Sakhalin Island) and Magadan time zones (Kuril Islands).

Giving Up Daylight Saving Time

On 26 October 2014, all Russian Time Zones moved their clocks 1 hour back to permanent Standard Time (winter time). From that point onwards Russians remained on standard time and no longer set their clocks forward.

There was as well an introduction of two new time zones for some regions of Russia that preferred to stay permanently on summer time. This change increased the number of time zones in Russia to 11 from 9.

The changes ended former President Dmitry Medvedev's move to eliminate "winter time" in 2011 and to reduce the number of time zones in Russia.

For a few special changes, please see below:

  • Volgograd Oblast moved from GMT+4 back to GMT+3 (Moscow Time)).
  • Udmurtia and Samara Oblast remained on GMT+04:00, (thus reinstating Samara Time, MSK+1)
  • Kemerovo Oblast remained on GMT+07:00 (went from Omsk to Krasnoyarsk Time)
  • Zabaykalsky Krai moved back two hours to GMT+08:00 (went from Yakutsk to Irkutsk Time)
  • Magadan Oblast moved back two hours to GMT+10:00 (went from Magadan Time, MSK+8 to Vladivostok Time, MSK+7)
  • Chukotka Autonomous Okrug and Kamchatka Krai remained on GMT+12:00 (thus reinstating Kamchatka Time, MSK+9)
  • Between 2014 and 2016 there were parts of the Magadan time zone that remained on MSK+8. They were given a new time zone name, Srednekolymsk Time, GMT+11. After 2016, the MSK+8 time zone was again named Magadan (MAGT).

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

European Union
Pacific / Oceania
South America
Russian Language
Moscow, Russia
Russia Cities
Anadyr, Russia
Barnaul, Russia
Chelyabinsk (Челя́бинск)
Chita, Russia
Irkutsk, Russia
Izhevsk, Russia
Kazan, Russia
Kaliningrad, Russia
Kemerovo, Russia
Khabarovsk, Russia
Krasnodar (Краснода́р)
Krasnoyarsk (Красноя́рск)
Magadan, Russia
Nizhny, Nizhny Novgorod
Novokuznetsk, Russia
Novosibirsk (Новосиби́рск)
Omsk, Russian Federation
Orenburg, Russia
Perm, Russian Federation
Rostov-on-Don, Rostov
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Samara, Russia
Saratov, Russia
Tolyatti, Russia
Tomsk, Russia
Ufa, Russian Federation
Ulan-Ude, Russia
Ulyanovsk (Улья́новск)
Vladivostok, Russia
Volgograd (Волгогра́д)
Voronezh, Russia
Yakutsk, Russia
Yaroslavl, Russia
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk
Russia Europe
Russia Asian
Russia Map