Time Gadgets
Time Zones


Federative Republic of Brazil / República Federativa do Brasil

Local clocks, time zones and main facts

Local current time in Brazil's time zones, in relevant places that observe Daylight Saving Time (DST) or stay on Standard Time all year round.

Would you like to know more about Brazil's major cities?

The Federative Republic of Brazil (Portuguese: República Federativa do Brasil ) is the largest and most populous country in Latin America and the fifth largest in the world.  Spanning a vast area between central South America and the Atlantic Ocean, Brazil borders Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, Bolivia, Peru, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana.  Every South American nation except for Ecuador and Chile borders with Brazil.  Named after brazilwood, a tree highly valued by early colonists, Brazil is home to both extensive agricultural lands and rain forests. There are four time zones in Brazil.

Does Brazil observe Daylight Saving Time?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) or Summer Time is observed in ten states: São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Espírito Santo, Minas Gerais, Paraná, Goiás, Mato Grosso do Sul, Mato Grosso, Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, and in Distrito Federal (the Federal District).

In 2019 DST ended on 17 February 2019 and is due to start again on the first Sunday in November. (source: Brazilian Government site .)

GMT/UTC offsets for Brazil's time zones

Brazil - Brasília Time (with DST) - Brasilia (Federal District), Espírito Santo , Goiás , Minas Gerais , Paraná , Rio de Janeiro , Rio Grande do Sul , Santa Catarina , São Paulo

(BRT in winter / BRST in summer)

Daylight Saving Time: BRST = GMT-2

Brazil - Brasília Time (without DST) - Alagoas , Amapá , Bahia , Ceará , Maranhão , Pará , Paraíba , Pernambuco , Piauí , Rio Grande do Norte , Rondônia , Sergipe

Standard Time: BRT = GMT-3
Does not operate Daylight Saving Time

Brazil - Amazon Time (with DST) - Mato Grosso , Mato Grosso do Sul

Standard Time: AMT = GMT-4
Daylight Saving Time: AMST = GMT-3

Brazil - Amazon Time (without DST) - Amazonas , Roraima

Standard Time: AMT = GMT-4
No Daylight Saving Time

Brazil - Fernando de Noronha Archipelago Time

Standard Time: FNT = GMT-2
No Daylight Saving Time

Brazil - Acre Time

Standard Time: ACT = GMT-5
No Daylight Saving Time

The international dialling code for Brazil is 55.

Our creative collection

City Clock
Moving time
Sun Time
Season progress
Moon Time
Current phase
place Fast Find - start by typing GMT Tools - check and bookmark ⏲ Time converter by place 🌎 Time converter by zone 🇧🇷 Brazil Clock ⓘ What is Greenwich Mean Time?