Distrito Federal

Brazilian Distrito Federal

State Capital City: Brasilia

State Abbreviation: DF

Distrito Federal is The Federal District (Portuguese: DistritoFederal ).  In its territory is located the federal capital, Brasília.#27 on map.

Was founded on April 21, 1960. Located in a region called Planalto Central,or Central Plateau, the Federal District is divided in 30 administrativeregions. Brasilia - The seat of the three branches of the Federal Government ofBrazil (Legislative, Executive and Judiciary) - is the main attraction of thisdry area, whose climate has only two seasons. During the dry season (winter),the humidity can reach critical levels, mainly in the peak hours of the hottestdays.

The civil government was transferred from Rio de Janeiro's Catete Palace toBrasília on April 21, 1960.

The capital is a thoroughly planned city with designated areas for residence,businesses, schools, churches, etc.  No streets have names, but areidentified instead by letters and numbers arranged in a geographical systemaccording to blocs (Q-Quadras) and sectors (S-Setor e.g.: SB - Setor Bancario or"Bank Section").  Originally built for up to one million inhabitants, thecity now has more than twice that number.

What is the current time in Distrito Federal now?

Official state website: www.df.gov.br (Portuguese)

Brazil Holidays
06/11/2020Corpus Christi
09/07/2020Independência do Brasil
10/12/2020Nossa Senhora Aparecida
11/15/2020Proclamação da República
01/01/2021Ano novo
02/17/2021Quarta-feira de cinzas (Início da Quaresma)
04/02/2021Sexta-feira Santa
05/01/2021Dia Mundial do Trabalho
06/03/2021Corpus Christi

Our creative collection

City Time
World Cities Time
Sun Time
Season progress
Liquid Time
Digital Hourglass
Related Pages
Acre, Brazil
Alagoas, Brazil
Amapá, Brazil
Amazonas, Brazil
Bahia, Brazil
Ceará, Brazil
Espírito Santo, Brazil
Goiás, Brazil
Maranhão, Brazil
Mato Grosso, Brazil
Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Minas Gerais, Brazil
Pará, Brazil
Paraíba, Brazil
Paraná, Brazil
Pernambuco, Brazil
Piauí, Brazil
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Rondônia, Brazil
Roraima, Brazil
Santa Catarina, Brazil
São Paulo, Brazil
Sergipe, Brazil
Tocantins, Brazil
Tell us if you found a problem