Santa Catarina

Brazilian State of Santa Catarina

State Capital City: Florianópolis

State Abbreviation: SC

Santa Catarina ("Saint Catherine") is a state in southern Brazil withone of the highest standards of living in Latin America.

Its capital is Florianópolis, which mostly lies on the Santa Catarina Island.Neighbouring states are Rio Grande do Sul to the south and Paraná to the north.It is bounded on the east by the Atlantic Ocean, and to the west it borders theprovince of Misiones, Argentina.   #23 on map.

Most of its inhabitants are descendantsof Portuguese, German, and Italian immigrants. The beaches along the coast of561 km (349 mi) are a great attraction for tourists visiting the smallest stateof the South Region. Florianópolis, the capital, is on an island and is one ofthe Brazilian cities that receives the most foreign tourists. To the south,Garopaba is the preferred destination of surfers looking for good waves. In themountain region, São Joaquim is an attraction during winter because of its lowtemperatures.  Blumenau, in the interior of Santa Catarina, is the stagefor one of the biggest events of the country: the Oktoberfest, a traditionalbeer party originated from Germany, that happens in October. The heritage of theItalian, German and Portuguese immigrants can be seen in the architecture andthe customs of the state.  Joinville is Santa Catarina's largest city.

What is the current time in Santa Catarina now?

Google Map of Santa Catarina

Largest cities in Santa Catarina

Florianópolis , Joinville, Blumenau

Official state website: (Portuguese)

Our creative collection

Related Pages
Florianópolis, Brazil
Acre, Brazil
Alagoas, Brazil
Amapá, Brazil
Amazonas, Brazil
Bahia, Brazil
Ceará, Brazil
Distrito Federal, Brazil
Espírito Santo, Brazil
Goiás, Brazil
Maranhão, Brazil
Mato Grosso, Brazil
Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil
Minas Gerais, Brazil
Pará, Brazil
Paraíba, Brazil
Paraná, Brazil
Pernambuco, Brazil
Piauí, Brazil
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Rondônia, Brazil
Roraima, Brazil
São Paulo, Brazil
Sergipe, Brazil
Tocantins, Brazil