Illinois USA

US State of Illinois

Main facts, current time and time zone

Illinois is a mid-western state in the N central United States.  Illinois is bordered by Lake Michigan and Indiana (E); Kentucky, across the Ohio R. (SE); Missouri and Iowa, across the Mississippi River (W); and Wisconsin (N).

Illinois constitutes the 21st state of the United States, located in the former Northwest Territory. Its name was given by the state's French explorers after the indigenous Illiniwek people, a consortium of Algonquin tribes that thrived in the area. The word Illiniwekmeans simply "the people."

The capital of Illinois is Springfield while its largest city is Chicago . Rockford and Peoria are also large cities.

The U.S. postal abbreviation for the state is IL.

Illinois Population

Population of Illinois is 12,830,632 according to 2010 census.

Illinois Time

Illinois is in the Central Time Zone in the United States of America (USA).  US Central Standard Time ( CST ) is 6 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-6).

Current time now in Time Zone: America Chicago (USA Central Time)

USA phone area codes

Enter a state or an area code to view time

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

Related Pages Illinois Illinois Time Illinois Map Addison Illinois Alton Illinois Arlington Heights Illinois Aurora Illinois Bartlett Illinois Belleville Illinois Berwyn Illinois Bloomington Illinois Bolingbrook Illinois Buffalo Grove Illinois Burbank Illinois Carol Stream Illinois Carpentersville Illinois Champaign Illinois Chicago Illinois Decatur Illinois Joliet Illinois Naperville Illinois Northbrook Illinois Oak Brook Illinois Peoria Illinois Rockford Illinois Schaumburg Illinois Skokie Illinois Springfield Illinois Taylorville Illinois Washington Illinois