West Virginia USA

US State of West Virginia

Current time and main facts

West Virginia is bordered by Pennsylvania and Maryland (N), Virginia (E and S), Kentucky and across the Ohio River, Ohio (W).

West Virginia is known as The Mountain State.

West Virginia Time

Current time now in Time Zone: America New York (USA Eastern Time)

West Virginia Cities

Charleston is the capital and largest city; Huntington is the second largest city, followed by Wheeling and Parkersburg.

West Virginia Facts

West Virginia broke away from Virginia during the American Civil War (1861-1865) and was admitted to the Union as a separate state on June 20, 1863.

West Virginia is the only state in the Union to have acquired its sovereignty by proclamation of the President of the United States. Statehood was proclaimed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, midway in the most bitter chapter of American history--the Civil War. Only seven years later, West Virginia's seat of government began travelling intermittently between Wheeling, site of the inauguration of the state's first governor, and Charleston, the choice for the state capital.

The US postal abbreviation for West Virginia is WV .

The Census Bureau considers West Virginia part of the South, because of the state being below the Mason-Dixon Line. While the USGS considers it a Mid-Atlantic state.

Towns and Cities in West Virginia

Bluefield, West Virginia
Delbarton, West Virginia
Nutter Fort, West Virginia
St. Albansinia
White Hall, West Virginia

USA phone area codes

Enter a state or an area code to view time

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

West Virginia Time
West Virginia Map
Buckhannon West Virginia
Charleston, West Virginia
Clarksburg West Virginia
Elkins West Virginia
Grafton West Virginia
Lewisburg West Virginia
New Martinsville W Virginia
Parkersburg West Virginia
Spencer West Virginia
Summersville West Virginia