Time Gadgets
Time Zones


The country of England (part of the UK)

Facts, map, current time

England is the largest and most populous country in the United Kingdom (UK).  It occupies southern two-thirds of the island of Great Britain.

England shares land borders with other UK nations: Scotland, to the north and Wales, to the west.

England is named after the Angles, one of the many peoples who settled in Britain following the breakdown of the Roman Empire.

The Anglo-Saxon kingdom of England was consolidated by the 10th century. It was conquered by the Normans in the invasion of 1066. During the middle ages Wales was brought under English law and governance.

Great Britain was created in the 1707 Act of Union with Scotland. The United Kingdom was created by the 1800 Act of Union with Ireland. This ceased to have full effect from 1922 when twenty-six counties left the Union and the six counties of Northern Ireland stayed.

A treasure trove of information, English Heritage website is a good starting point if you want to learn more about England. Another entry point into England's history is a public body, Historic England.

England's largest city and capital, London , is also the capital of the United Kingdom.

Current daylight saving dates for Europe

European clocks are now on:


  • Standard Time began: Sunday 27 October 2019  01:00 GMT. Clocks went back one hour.
  • Standard Time ends: Sunday 29 March 2020  01:00 GMT. Clocks go forward one hour.

UK and Europe Clock Change Rules

List of counties in England

Our creative collection

City Clock
Moving time
Sun Time
Season progress
Moon Time
Current phase
place Fast Find - start by typing GMT Tools - check and bookmark ⏲ Time converter by place 🌎 Time converter by zone ⓘ What is Greenwich Mean Time?