Christchurch, Dorset

Town of Christchurch, Dorset

Current time and facts

Christchurch is a market town in Dorset on the English Channel coast, adjoining Bournemouth in the west and with the New Forest to the east. Although within the historic county boundaries of Hampshire until the 1974 local government re-organisation. The borough has a population of 44,869 (2001 census). Christchurch (Twynham) was one of King Alfred's Royal Burghs (fort) in about 870 and remained a Royal possession until King Henry I bequeathed the Manor and lands to his cousin, Richard de Redvers, about the year 1100.

The Borough was re-incorporated by Royal Charter on 10 July 1886. In 1911 the boundaries were extended to include Mudeford and Jumpers and in 1932 further extended to include part of the Parish of Hurn and the Parish of Highcliffe. The Borough remained in being until 31 March 1974 when following the Local Government Act of 1972 the District of Christchurch was established. The new District was granted the status of Borough by a Royal Charter granted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on 27 February 1974, taking effect on 1 April that year. The Borough continues to be one of the smallest in the Country in terms of both area and population.

Official Town of Christchurch, Dorset website:

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

London Time