Hertfordshire, England

Current local time in Hertfordshire

Main towns

Hertfordshire (abbreviation: Herts.) is an inland county in England and one of the Home Counties.

The etymological root of the name is the Anglo-Saxon heort ford (deer crossing).

Hertfordshire is located to the north of Greater London.

Hertfordshire has a wide range of transport links, with the M1, M10, A1(M), the M25 and other motorways passing through it.

To the east of Hertfordshire is Essex, to the west is Buckinghamshire and to the north are Bedfordshire, Luton and Cambridgeshire.

Hertfordshire's only historic city, St Albans, is built by the site of Verulamium, the third largest city in Roman Britain. The modern town was named after Saint Alban, the first Christian martyr.  Hertfordshire is also the location of the UK's first two Garden Cities, Welwyn Garden City and Letchworth.

Hatfield House, in Hatfield, was a former home to Queen Elizabeth I during her youth. It is said that here, while sat under a large oak tree, she was told she was to become Queen.

Main towns in Hertfordshire

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

London Time