Time and Cricket

A complex relationship

Anna Monks

Old Father Time - photograph courtesy of M.C.Dre Old Father Time - photograph courtesy of M.C.Drew

The first time I went to Lords I wondered why the weather vane was forged as Old Father Time. The grim reaper did not seem an obvious motif for a sporting venue. Now I know better: for cricket’s complex relationship with Time makes it the great game that it is.

Many sports are played to a time limit and some have a set number of goes: cricket magnificently uses both methods to produce its array of marvellous contests.

If you are following a test match click the image below to find the current time at the ground.

The Cricket Time Equation:
5(Days of Drama) = 1( Great Test Match)

We who love Test Match Cricket experience the full drama of an unfolding day when we watch or hear a game.

The drama starts early with optimistic speculation as the dew dries off the ground. The mid-morning sees batsmen and bowlers asserting their rights at the crease while our stomachs dream of lunch.
The sluggish afternoon plays out for the winning side with hopes of reviving tea.

But the waft of the early evening breeze across the ground awakens us to fresh dramas as the spinners and seamers find their magic or refreshed big hitters send the weary fielders lolloping to the boundary.

Five days sounds such a long time for a game, but the most memorable matches finish with a run chase against the clock on the fifth day or a war of attrition to make it a draw. The Test becomes a mirror for human endeavour as the long awaited deadline produces heroic surges of determination.

The old clock above the pavilion steps is the bowler’s friend and the batsman’s enemy or is it the other way round? My friends, it depends on the match!

External links

For International Fixtures see cricinfo


Photo of cricket scoreboard The saddest time of the year:
the scoreboard after the last innings of the season.

Cricket Test Grounds and Locations

Cricket grounds change their names and usage frequently, so please beware that the following information may not be up to date. We are grateful for contributions to make it more accurate.

Adelaide Oval Adelaide
Bellerive Oval Hobart
Brisbane Cricket Ground / The Gabba Brisbane
Melbourne Cricket Ground / MCG Melbourne
Sydney Cricket Ground / SCG Sydney
Western Australia Cricket Association Ground / The WACA Perth



Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium/ Narayanganj Osmani Stadium

Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium Khulna

Shere-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium Chittagong


Ageas Bowl / The Rose Bowl Southampton

County Cricket Ground/Edgbaston


Emirates, Durham / Chester-le-Street

Headingly Cricket Ground Leeds
Lords Cricket Ground London
KIA Oval London
Emirates Old Trafford Manchester
SWALEC Stadium Cardiff
Trent Bridge Nottingham


Eden Gardens Kolcata
Feroz Shah Kotla Ground Delhi
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium


Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium Nagpur

New Zealand

Basin Reserve Wellington
Eden Park Auckland
Hagley Oval Christchurch
Seddon Park Hamilton
University Oval Dunedin

Pakistan Home Grounds

In United Arab Emirates

Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium Abu Dhabi
Dubai International Cricket Stadium Dubai
Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium Sharjah


Niaz Stadium Hyderabad
National Stadium Karachi
Gaddafi Stadium Lahore
Multan Cricket Stadium Multan
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium Rawalpindi

South Africa

Axxess DSL / St. Georges Park Port Elizabeth
Kingsmead / Sahara Stadium Durban
New Wanderers Stadium Johannesburg
Newlands / Sahara Park Cape Town
Supersport Stadium / Centurion Park Centurion

Sri Lanka

Galle International Stadium Galle

P. Sara Oval / P. Saravanamuttu Stadium

Pallekele International Cricket Stadium Kandy

R. Premadasa Stadium / Ranasinghe Premadasa Stadium

Sinhalese Sports Club Ground Colombo

West  Indies

Antigua Recreation Ground St. John's, Antigua and Barbuda
Beausejour Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Kensington Oval Bridgetown, Barbados
National Cricket Stadium St. Georges, Greneda
The Playing Fields / Arnos Vale Kingstown, St. Vincent
Providence Stadium Providence, Guyana
Queens Park Oval Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Sabina Park Kingston, Jamaica
Sir Vivian Richards Stadium North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda
Warner Park Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis
Windsor Park Roseau, Dominica
Harare Sports Club Harare
Queens Sports Club Bulawayo

Please let us know if there are any errors or if a new location needs to be added

Our creative collection

City Time
World Cities Time
Sun Time
Season progress
Liquid Time
Digital Hourglass
Related Pages
Cricket Clock
Time Gadgets
Did you find what you were looking for?