Alaska USA

What is Alaska's time zone and current local time?

Main facts and figures

The US State of Alaska

Alaska is the 49th state of the United States. Alaska was admitted to the Union on January 3rd 1959.  The name "Alaska" is most likely derived from the Aleut word Alyeska , meaning great country, mainland or great land.

Where is Alaska?

Alaska is bordered by Yukon Territory and British Columbia, Canada to the east, the Gulf of Alaska and the Pacific Ocean to the south, the Bering Sea, Bering Strait, and Chukchi Sea to the west, and the Beaufort Sea and the Arctic Ocean to the north.

Alaska is the largest state by area in the United States.

US Postal abbreviation for Alaska is AK .

The capital city is Juneau and the largest city is Anchorage .

Population of Alaska

The population of the state of Alaska is 626,932, as of the 2000 census.

What time zone is Alaska in?

Almost all of Alaska is in the Alaska Time Zone , with Standard Time Most 9 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-9).  The westernmost Aleutian islands and St. Lawrence island are on Hawaii-Aleutian Time, 10 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-10).

Current time now in Alaska ZoneDoes Alaska observe Daylight Saving Time?

Like most states in the U.S., Daylight Saving Time is observed in Alaska, where the time is shifted forward by 1 hour, resulting in an 8 hours difference behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-8).

After the summer months the time is shifted back by 1 hour resulting in the normal 9 hours difference behind GMT.

NB The Aleutian Islands of Alaska operate to Hawaii-Aleutian Time

USA phone area codes

Enter place or code

Our creative collection

Related Pages
Aleutian Islands
Anchorage Alaska
Utqiagvik Alaska
Bethel Alaska
Dillingham Alaska
Fairbanks Alaska
Homer Alaska
Juneau, Alaska
Kenai Alaska
Ketchikan Alaska
Kodiak Alaska
Kotzebue Alaska
Nome Alaska
North Pole, Alaska
Palmer Alaska
Petersburg Alaska
Prudhoe Bay Alaska
Seward Alaska
Sitka Alaska
Valdez Alaska
Wasilla Alaska
Wrangell Alaska
Yakutat Alaska