Time Zone ConverterSunrise and SunsetMoonrise and MoonsetGMT Event TimeGMT Meeting PlannerGMT Currency ConverterGMT CalendarDate CalculatorTimerGMT Time Zone ExplorerGMT World ClockGlobe TimeSun TimeMoon TimeCity TimeCricket TimeUS Eastern Time - ESTUS Pacific Time - PSTUS Central Time - CSTEU Central Time - CETUS Central Time - CSTIndia Time - ISTBristol TimeDid Columbus find longitude?The International Meridian Conference, Washington, 1884In tune, on time and in timeAstrology: Natal ChartWhy is the Navy so involved in time-keeping?NTPPanchang - Indian AstrologyRailway Time
{{ cseIcon[cseOpen] }}

Montana USA

US State of Montana

Montana is a Rocky Mountain state located in the North-western United States.

Where is Montana?

Montana is bounded by North Dakota and South Dakota (E), Wyoming (S), Idaho (W), and the Canadian provinces of British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan (N).

Montana's expanse of the Great Plains partly contributing to the state nickname of " Big Sky Country ."

Much of Montana's western boundary is marked by the crest of the Bitterroot Range, part of the Rocky Mountains which dominate the western section of the state and along which runs the Continental Divide. Montana's very name is derived from the Spanish word montaña , meaning mountain country.

Modern-day Montana became Montana Territory in 1864 by the appointment of U.S. President Abraham Lincoln and later became the 41st state in 1889.

The Montana state capital is Helena (nicknamed "Queen City of the Rockies"), hometown of the late Gary Cooper and Myrna Loy.

Billings and Great Falls are the largest cities; other important cities include Missoula and Butte.

The state's U.S. postal abbreviation is MT.

Montana Population

Montana Time

Montana is in the Mountain Time Zone in the United States of America (USA). US Mountain Standard Time (MST) is 7 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-7).

Current time now in Time Zone: America Denver (USA Mountain Time)

Montana Websites

Why not be featured here?

Contact us via the Feedback Form

Towns and Cities in Montana
  • Baker, Montana
  • Belgrade
  • Billings
  • Bozeman
  • Butte-Silver Bow
  • Choteau
  • Columbia Falls
  • Fort Benton
  • Great Falls
  • Hamilton
  • Hardin, Montana
  • Helena
  • Hot Springs
  • Libby, Montana
  • Livingston
  • Missoula
  • Philipsburg
  • Polson
  • Troy
  • Virginia City
  • West Yellowstone
  • Whitefish
  • Wolf Point

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):

Useful linksGMT Time ConverterGMT World ClockWhat is GMT?Currency converter