Time Zone ConverterSunrise and SunsetMoonrise and MoonsetGMT Event TimeGMT Meeting PlannerGMT Currency ConverterGMT CalendarDate CalculatorTimerGMT Time Zone ExplorerGMT World ClockGlobe TimeSun TimeMoon TimeCity TimeCricket TimeUS Eastern Time - ESTUS Pacific Time - PSTUS Central Time - CSTEU Central Time - CETUS Central Time - CSTIndia Time - ISTBristol TimeDid Columbus find longitude?The International Meridian Conference, Washington, 1884 GMT Timestamp In tune, on time and in timeAstrology: Natal ChartWhy is the Navy so involved in time-keeping?NTPPanchang - Indian Astrology
{{ cseIcon[cseOpen] }}

South Dakota USA

US State of South Dakota

South Dakota is a Midwestern state in the United States in the N central United States.

Where is South Dakota?

South Dakota is bordered by North Dakota (N), Minnesota and Iowa (E), Nebraska (S), Wyoming and Montana (W).

South Dakota is named after the Lakota (Sioux) American Indian tribe.

South Dakota was admitted to the Union on November 2, 1889. North Dakota was admitted on the same day.

The US postal abbreviation of South Dakota is SD .

It is one of the six states of the Frontier Strip.

South Dakota Population

Population of South Dakota is 814,180 according to 2010 census.

Pierre is the South Dakota state capital; the largest cities are Sioux Falls and Rapid City .

South Dakota Time

The Eastern part of South Dakota (including Pierre , the State capital) is in the Central Time Zone in the United States. Central Standard Time (CST) is 6 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-6). The Western part of South Dakota is in the Mountain Time Zone in the United States. Mountain Standard Time (MST) is 7 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-7).

See South Dakota counties for local time

Current time now in Time Zone: America Chicago (USA Central Time)

South Dakota Websites

South Dakota
Why not be featured here?
Contact us via the Feedback Form

South Dakota Map

Towns and Cities in South Dakota

Aberdeen | Belle Fourche | Beresford | Brookings | Canton | Carthage | Clark | Custer | Deadwood | Dell Rapids | Delmont | Edgemont | Emery | Faith, South Dakota | Flandreau | Fort Pierre | Hot Springs | Howard | Huron | Keystone | Lake Preston | Lead, South Dakota | Madison | Mitchell | Mobridge | Murdo | North Sioux City | Onida | Parkston | Pierre | Pierre | Rapid City | Salem | Sioux Falls | Spearfish | Springfield | Sturgis | Tulare | Vermillion | Wagner, South Dakota | Wall | Watertown | Webster | Wessington Springs | Woonsocket | Yankton

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):

Useful linksGMT Time ConverterGMT World ClockWhat is GMT?Currency converter