British Summer Time (BST)

2023 BST starts on 26 March and ends on 29 October

British Summer Time is GMT+1. UK Standard Time is GMT

British Summer Time Rule

In the UK, the Daylight Saving (DST) period is known as British Summer Time or BST for short.

When BST starts, the UK moves its clocks forward from GMT by one hour, so BST= GMT+1.

The UK is the short name for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.  Great Britain consists of England, Wales and Scotland.

Since 1996 all clocks in the European Union have changed on same dates and at the same time, 1:00 am GMT. UK left the EU on 31 January 2020 and was in a transition period till the end of 2020. There have been no announcements so far about post-EU Daylight Saving Time (DST) rules.

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

BST Dates
History of BST
The Longest Day
Time-related Articles