UK Travel

United Kingdom - useful country information

Location, official language, country flag

United Kingdom comprises the island of Great Britain (England, Wales and Scotland) and the northern part of the island of Ireland. UK is located between the North Atlantic Ocean and the North Sea, northwest of France.

The capital of United Kingdom (UK) is London.

The official language of United Kingdom is English.

The official birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II is celebrated on the second Saturday in June.

Flag of United Kingdom

The UK flag is properly known as the Union Flag, but is commonly called the Union Jack.

Its colours are red, white and blue, bringing together the red cross of Saint George (patron saint of England) edged in white superimposed on the diagonal red cross of Saint Patrick (patron saint of Ireland), which is superimposed on the diagonal white cross of Saint Andrew (patron saint of Scotland).

The design and colours (especially the Blue Ensign) have been the basis for a number of other flags including other Commonwealth countries and their constituent states or provinces, as well as British overseas territories.

Clocks and Time Tools

Our creative collection

Related Pages United Kingdom London Time England Scotland Wales Northern Ireland Towns & Cities in England Map of UK UK Currency Converter Northern Ireland