Time Gadgets
Time Zones

Australia Time

What is the current time in Australian states now?

There are six states and three time zones

Australian Time Zones

Australia Map

Australia is divided into 6 states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania and 2 territories; the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

There are three time zones in Australia:

Does Australia operate Daylight Saving Time?

Australian states except Northern Territory and Western Australia and Queensland have daylight saving time during the summer months.

The (Australian) National Standards Commission (Commonwealth statutory authority established in 1950 and operating under the National Measurement Act 1960) website: www.measurement.gov.au

The Commission is responsible for advising the Government on the scientific, technical and legislative requirements of Australia's national measurement system, and has specific responsibilities for coordinating the national measurement system, ensuring that trade measurement instruments comply with international and national legal metrology standards, and for the completion of metrication.

Australia Daylight Saving Time

Changed from 2007-2008.  Summer Time (Daylight Saving Time) runs in New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria. South Australia and Tasmania from the first Sunday in October through to the first Sunday in April.

  State Standard
saving time
Daylight Saving Time
ACT Australian Capital Territory GMT+10 GMT+11 YES
NSW New South Wales GMT+10 GMT+11 YES
NT Northern Territory GMT+9:30 N/A N/A
QLD Queensland GMT+10 N/A N/A
SA South Australia GMT+9:30 GMT+10:30 YES
TAS Tasmania GMT+10 GMT+11 YES
VIC Victoria GMT+10 GMT+11 YES
WA Western Australia GMT+8 N/A N/A

Our creative collection

City Clock
Moving time
Sun Time
Season progress
Moon Time
Current phase
place Fast Find - start by typing GMT Tools - check and bookmark ⏲ Time converter by place 🌎 Time converter by zone 🇦🇺 Australia Clock ⓘ What is Greenwich Mean Time?