World Time Starts Here


Uruguay is in Southern South America, bordering the South Atlantic Ocean, between Argentina and Brazil .

Oriental Republic of Uruguay / Republica Oriental del Uruguay

Uruguay Time

Clock showing the local time right now in Uruguay (Montevideo Time Zone)

Montevideo, founded by the Spanish in 1726 as a military stronghold, soon took advantage of its natural harbor to become an important commercial center.

Annexed by Brazil as a separate province in 1821, Uruguay declared its independence four years later and secured its freedom in 1828 after a three-year struggle. The administrations of President BATLLE in the early 20th century established widespread political, social, and economic reforms.

Civilian rule was restored in 1985.

Capital of Uruguay is Montevideo

Administrative divisions of Uruguay: 19 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Artigas, Canelones, Cerro Largo, Colonia, Durazno, Flores, Florida, Lavalleja, Maldonado, Montevideo, Paysandu, Rio Negro, Rivera, Rocha, Salto, San Jose, Soriano, Tacuarembo, Treinta y Tres

What is the International Telephone Dialling Code for Uruguay ?

The International Dialling Code for Uruguay is 598.

Rate this page

Thanks for rating

Please explain any problem (email address for reply):